Introducing 2020-21 Senior Leadership Team

The GSA has 7 committees and 5 subcommittees that work diligently to carry out initiatives and host events to improve the graduate student experience at the University of Calgary. The Chairs and Vice Chairs of these committees and subcommittees together with the Board of Directors, Chief Returning Officer, GRC Speaker, GRC Clerk, AVP Labour, and GSA Executive Director make up the Senior Leadership Team which acts as an advisory body for the GSA Board of Directors.

The GSA is excited to introduce this year’s Senior Leadership Team members who are committed to providing collaborative, consultative guidance for the GSA this year. 

Tanille Shandro President
Alex Paquette VP Academic
Christine Cao VP External
Mary Zhang  VP Student Life
Kabita Baral VP Finance and Services
Danielle Abbott Executive Director
Brit Paris AVP Labour
Kirsten Neprily GRC Speaker
Kristina Miller GRC Clerk
Marcela Lopes Chief Returning Officer
Feyisetan Adebayo Sustainability Committee Chair
Evangeline Eldridge Sustainability Committee Vice Chair
Michelle Love Awards Committee Chair
Haydee Mesa Galloso Awards Committee Vice Chair
Breni Sharma Awards Committee Vice Chair
Martine Dennie Academic Standing Committee Chair 
Suzie Lee  Academic Standing Committee Vice Chair
Dusan Nikolic Academic Standing Committee Vice Chair
Laura Flinkfelt Governance Committee Chair 
Raghu Bhaskar  Governance Committee Vice Chair
Emily MacphailFinance Committee Chair
Anthonia Anowai Student Experience and Events Committee Chair 
Catalina Barboza Student Experience and Events Committee  Vice Chair
Heather Shepherd Mental Health and Wellness Subcommittee Chair 
Daniela Arciniegas Mental Health and Wellness Subcommittee Vice Chair
Nemy Shah Newcomer and International Students Subcommittee Chair 
Arshia Hosseini Newcomer and International Students Subcommittee Vice Chair
Robyn Mae Paul Gender and Sexuality Alliance Subcommittee Chair  
Colleen Peterson Gender and Sexuality Alliance Subcommittee Vice Chair
Brian Shim  Community Engagement Subcommittee Chair 
Noah Cooke Community Engagement Subcommittee Vice Chair
Kayla Dias Events Subcommittee Chair 
Masume Akbari Events Subcommittee Vice Chair
GSA 2020-2021 Senior Leadership Team

You can learn more about our committees and subcommittees HERE:

Many of our committees and subcommittees are currently recruiting members. Don’t miss this chance to get involved in the great work the GSA and our volunteers are doing to enhance graduate student experience at UCalgary. Learn about the available positions HERE: Current GSA Volunteer Opportunities

Leave a Comment